Tea

June 21, 2009 at 11:49 pm | Posted in Compulsions, Humour, Mind | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

They don’t call it a ‘ceremony’ for nothing!

Certain behaviours may manifest when you make a cup of tea.

You’ll want the tea to accurately reflect its description (i.e. one or two sugars). This desire will be more acute if you’re making the tea for someone else.

For the tea’s description to be accurate, the sugar must dissolve completely. To achieve this, you’ll put the sugar in first and cover it with just-boiled water.

You’ll then stir the water vigorously and  repeatedly. Chances are you’ll count each circuit of the spoon in the cup. Once a certain count has proven to make successful tea, you’ll stick to it.

You won’t add milk until the sugar is dissolved, as doing so would reduce the water’s temperature (and therefore its dissolving power).

You’ll then jiggle the tea bag using a similar methodology to the stirring. On discarding the bag, you may stir the tea once again just to be on the safe side. This ‘informal’ or ‘ancillary’ stirring won’t need to be counted.

On presenting the tea to its recipient, you’ll ask for detailed feedback so you can fix or adjust your routine for next time (your stated goal being to produce perfect tea).

The best feedback is a score out of ten (with 0.5 increments). Unfortunately, few people outside your immediate circle will appreciate your request.

😐

Brought to you by The Feisty Empire.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well, I am motivated to make my wife perfect teas. But it’s not due to pressure from her. I just love hearing her say: ‘That was the best tea you’ve ever made’ or ‘That was a ten!’. 🙂

  2. This is so sweet, and I don’t just mean the sugar in the tea, but your entire blog! How are you doing these days? As I read your blog I see so much in common with my own family, as seeing art in the scruff on a sign post or a river bottom in a wall of pebble-coating is just natural to us. On the other hand, I would have chosen the dull, thick spoon precisely because 1) It looks sturdier for scooping things like hard ice cream 2) Shiny surfaces go dull and so I prefer them to start out dull and avoid the heartbreak of scratches and 3) It is more avant garde and utilitarian-looking. I am bookmarking your site for my son. You have no idea the reach of your blog here, nor the benefit you are conferring on all your readers, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing with us.

    • Hi, Lia! It’s wonderful to see you. Things are going pretty well, thanks. This blog has been a great outlet. The more I write, the less angst I feel. I have embraced my ‘aspie superpowers’ and am using them to great effect in my day job.

      I’m fascinated by your teaspoon analysis. Thank you! You’re right; I’ve no idea where ths blog goes or what good it does. So it’s particularly fabulous to here back from you. Thanks so much for responding, and for putting the word out. I’d love this to be a book someday. Best regards to you and your son, Paul. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

