Alcohol

June 25, 2009 at 12:32 pm | Posted in Mind, Threats | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Instant peace. Endless torment.

Alcohol will be one of the most seductive and destructive forces you ever encounter.

Imagine a seized, rusting clockwork motor – fully wound.

Now spray an entire can of WD40 (or RP7) onto it; immediately it starts to run and unwind.

The lubricant frees all parts of the whole, so it can function in line with design.

That’s what alcohol does to your brain.

By dulling your mind, it gives temporary relief from (and illusory control of) an overstimulating world.

That’s why it’s so dangerous.

Once you start, you may not be able to stop.

And each time you use it, you break a part.

Like a slow-motion grenade going off in your head.

So steer clear of alcohol if you can.

And if it already has its fangs into you, get off it as soon as possible.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A (aspie) friend recently observed that I can only get through parties if I have a drink or two. She’s right. I’ve always said I feel at my best after a couple of beers: I am relaxed, less anxious, and I smile more – something that improves the way others respond to me, and something that I don’t do much under normal circumstances. And because I’m relaxed, I don’t tire so quickly (although a retreat to the loo/spare room/garden is almost always in order).

    So, beer is a quick (and temporary) fix. It’s almost as though it makes me neurotypical for a few hours. Of course, then it wears off, and I’m left realising that I didn’t get to be neurotypical at all; I let down my guard, my pretence – I became pure aspie. I just didn’t care for a change.

    Don’t get me wrong, I don’t go overboard, we’re only ever talking about two beers. And I get to enjoy a party, don’t I? Certainly it sorts out my true friends from those who only like the fake me (which is always useful to know), but none of it rests easy on my shoulders.

    If I were to go to a party, and not have anything to drink… (I have been known to refuse to go, if I have to drive)… I can imagine leaving after half an hour. Why put myself through that? Why indeed?

    • Dear Leigh, thank you so much for sharing your perspective. This was not an easy post to share, so I’m particularly grateful for your candour. Your words resonate strongly. They also remind me of when I was younger. My parents made home-brew beer. On my way out to a teen party, they’d load me up with a couple of bottles. I’d also take a red light globe. When I got to the party, I’d put the globe in a lamp and turn the other lights off. This often created wonderful mood lighting, but sometimes the host insisted on reverting to harsh white fluorescent lights. Funny how this blog brings back memories. Anyway, thanks again for adding a priceless level of depth and authenticity to our debate. Best regards, P. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

