Diazepam

December 7, 2009 at 1:59 pm | Posted in 1, Compulsions, Mind, Threats, Treatment | 16 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A good friend. Too good, unfortunately.

Like almost everything that feels good, Diazepam (marketed as Valium) is bad for you.

Bad in the sense that it’s very ‘grippy’ (i.e. you can very easily become dependent on it).

This danger is easy to appreciate, once you’ve tried Diazepam a few times.

If you’re freaking out, half a Serapax, Oxazepam (or equivalent) can calm you down within an hour. Less if you chew the tablet.

This is particularly beneficial if you need to ‘get it together’ for work.

From weeping and tearing your hair out to quietly doing your emails: the shift can be quite astounding.

Another effective use of Diazepam is as a preventative measure when you must perform difficult social interactions (e.g. go to dinner with friends).

Because it calms without disabling, it’s vastly superior to getting drunk before you walk out the door.

A third use of Diazepam is for sleep. As well as sending you to sleep, it keeps you there. Sometimes until dawn.

This makes it superior to many sleeping pills, which only work for a few hours and leave you feeling wrung out the next day.

Doctors will, quite rightly, make you jump through all manner of hoops before prescribing Diazepam.

When they do, however, the cheapness of the prescription (relative to the comfort it can bring) will amaze you.

Once the pills are gone, there’ll be moments you’d gladly pay twenty times the price to get relief.

Naturally, your thoughts may turn to abuse. Take two pills and whatever is bothering you will almost certainly go away (for a while).

Take two pills with alcohol and you’ll go out like a light. You may even slide over while watching television and wake up, cold and cramped, many hours later.

This sort of behaviour is very bad news. Add vehicles to the mix and you’re absolutely asking for it.

Unless you have a will of iron, therefore, you should try to steer clear of Diazepam.

At the very least, keep your doctor and psychologist fully informed of your usage.

Properly used, Diazepam can get you over humps and through tight spots.

Used any other way, it will become yet another source of problems and sorrow.


If you found this post interesting or useful, you may wish to:

Your smallest kindness will keep me going strong. 🙂

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I had an operation recently and the drug I was given to relax me in the operating room just before they put me to sleep was so wonderful (see my blog post for more detail). I wish I could have a steady infusion of it. I pine for it now. I think I have a VERY addictive side. Valium sound slike something I’d best avoid no matter hwo much it might improve my state of mind.

    • Many thanks for dropping by, DJ. I appreciate you sharing your story. You have some great piccies on your blog! 🙂

  2. be careful, valium is a horror show to withdraw from – unreal

    • Thank you, Mike. I appreciate the warning. Best regards, AS.

      • But if taken properly it is better with far less side effects than crap like seroxat. There has to a HOLY daily limit is all.

        Try the suicidal thoughts I had with Seroxat and tell me Diazeapam is worse. I doubt it. Plus I have to to stress all Seratonin inhibitors make me feel awful. If the choice is being ill, suffering the effects of medication, or simply having to keep to the correct dosage of something that as the blog admits DOES work… Well I’ll take the Valium every time.

        • Thanks again, Ben. Seroxat is a new one on me. I like how this blog is teaching me far more knowledge than I impart. Best regards, P. 🙂

  3. My limited experiences of Valium always left me wanting more. A fix best avoided, if you can.

    I am missing AS’s subtle observations lately.

    🙂

  4. From RLAW1979@GMAIL.COM

    I suffer from anxiety attacks and autism. I disagree entirely with the comments above.

    My life has over the last few years been a slow progressive depression and I have been accused of being too intense and depressive. I have lost jobs and failed job interview after interview. FOR THE LAST 15 YEARS I have lost any sense of who I was before I started to get my uncontrollable anxiety disorder in my teens. I have failed my family by always ending up unemployed and in the crapper. I really don’t get why people are being so down on the drug. I have worked successfully with drug addicts and I KNOW that increased dosage and addiction is a problem but I ask you this. Is it really so terrible for me to have a normal human life where I am not trying to survive every day and act happy when inside for the past 4 years in particular I have felt like I am dying.

    Let me tell you how this professionally effected me.
    I get hyperactive and loud at work. – Colleagues badmouth me and accuse me of not being able to do the work, which has never been the case but I get victimised and accused of total spurious crap that never adds up to anything real. It is just mudslinging at the depressive anxiety person.

    And anxiety is not nervousness. It is feeling like you are about to die and feeling terror every few weeks, after it builds in you after days and weeks of suffering. First I get distracted, then I get horny, then my normal coping mechanisms totally become useless and I can’t focus.

    The 5mg a day of diazepam sorts that completely out. I don’t take it at prescribed times. I only take a maximum of 10mg during a crisis period that usually lasts a week at most.

    In return I feel like a normal person, or at least more normal than I usually did. I don’t have that second feeling in my head running a thousand miles an hour anymore. It is largely absent. I can connect properly with other people.

    Why the hell should I give up something that helps me when I am not an addict, nor after working with them would I ever let myself become one?

    Addiction is for idiots. Period.

    • I greatly appreciate your reply, Ben. It shows that I’m only one tiny data point in a vast spectrum.

      The time you’ve taken to lay out your thoughts will greatly benefit this blog and its readers. Thank you very much indeed for your candour! Best regards, P. 🙂

      • You’d love the bit where instead of orgasms Seroxat gives you headaches and tension in the neck. Delayed orgasm is common and not pleasurable, numbed. Oh yeah there is worse than Diazepam by a long way. 😉

        LOL

        Thanks!

      • Seroxat is called Paxil in the USA

      • Thanks for that, Richard; I’ll check it out. Sorry I’ve been calling you Ben all this time! I haven’t updated for ages, but plan to do so soon. Best regards, P. 🙂

  5. My husband has undiagnosed aspbergers. His own discovery. I love him dearly but his social anxiety is so troubling for Us both as well as all the other typical symptoms. After a recent heart attack he was given diazepam for anxiety and to help him stop smoking. His personality change was profound. He can actually chat with me and go out in public without anxiety. However, the medical community seems so against it and afraid of addiction. He is 61 years old and who cares if he get addicted if his quality of life and our marriage is vastly improved. He only takes 1/2 to one 5 mg tablet a day. He does seem afraid of the psychological addiction but becomes depressed when he doesn’t take it. Any suggestions? He smokes way less on it and hardly drinks at all when he formally drank 12 beers a night to sleep.

    • Many thanks for your highly personal share, Linda. That transformation certainly sounds familiar! Since writing this post, I’ve spoken to my doctor and psychologist at length about diazepam addiction. Both are adamant that half a 5 mg tablet to get me through a difficult day is infinitely preferable and less damaging than beer. Has your husband read Allen Carr’s Easy Way to Stop Smoking? I never believed in self-help books. But, after ten years of smoking and 20 failed attempts, I was desperate. My 21st attempt worked, thanks to the book. And that was over 12 years ago. So, my other suggestion would be to remove the smoking thing. I’m also working on the drinking thing with Allen Carr’s other book. Not as easy, but I’m getting there. I hope this helps, Linda. Please keep us posted! Kind regards, P. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

