Cheese

February 1, 2010 at 4:51 pm | Posted in 1, Benefits, Body, Mind, Senses, Taste | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

There’s cheese, cheese and then cheese.
All are different.

Your sense of taste may be so acute that grated cheese is a completely different proposition to cubed or sliced.

This may simply be due to the greater surface-area-to-volume ratio.

Or perhaps you can ‘taste’ different shapes (just as some aspies ‘see’ numbers).

Either way, you have more options when there’s not much in the fridge.

πŸ™‚

Brought to you by The Feisty Empire.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey! I don’t taste shapes – but I taste some foods and they are colors for me. Don’t quite know how to express that … but V-8 – is the color green … When I drink it, it tastes green to me. I mostly taste red and green … some yellow or purple tastes … Never thought it was odd until I realized that other people would look at me strangely when I would say that “Gosh, this tastes green” and they had no clue …

    • Thank you for your comment, ideni. It’s sharings like yours that make this blog worthwhile.

      Conditions like ours seem to be a constant stream of discovering either that not everyone is like us or that there are actually others like us.

      It’s hard to see the wood for the trees sometimes. But your input just shone a light. Thanks again. πŸ™‚

  2. I suspect the extra surface area increases the oxidation and thus gives the taste more ‘bite’. I’ve long suspected this from noticing that thickly sliced cheese slices are not as flavourful as wafer thin sliced pieces.

    Now, someone check the International Dairy Journal for proof of hunch!

    It is pleasing to notice the little things.

    Nice to see another observation from you AS. Keep them coming!

    • Oxidation: I love it! Trust you to bring a ‘fresh’ perspective. πŸ™‚

      I’ve been too busy to post lately, but I’ve set a reminder to do something in here at least once every Monday. Knowing you’re out there, enjoying these posts, is a great motivator. Many thanks! πŸ™‚

  3. I love the taste and texture of melted cheese, especially when it’s combined with somethign crispy.

    • I don’t imagine you’re alone there! πŸ™‚ Many thanks for adding your view on this topic. It makes the whole blogging effort worthwhile. Please come back soon! Kind regards, P. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

