Drive

October 30, 2012 at 7:04 am | Posted in 1, Benefits, Body, Hearing, Recreation, Senses, Touch | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

Learn one; master all!

If someone teaches you to drive, they may be astonished at how swiftly and well you pick it up.

This will likely be due to two factors.

First, you’re probably dying to master an enclosed, personal, movable space that protects you while giving you a means of independence and escape.

Second, and perhaps more encouragingly, your superior sensitivity will alert you to the training vehicle’s every nuance.

The moment you slide into the driver’s seat, your senses will start reaching to every part of the machine – like ganglia.

If you crunch the gears, you’ll shudder in sympathy and note the warning signs for next time.

If you hit a curb when turning, you’ll know by sound and feel whether it was the rubber tyre, the plastic hubcap and/or the metal rim of the wheel.

Early pilots called this ‘flying by the seat of your pants’ – because they literally felt many aspects of the aircraft through their seat.

You’ll take this principle even further.

After a while, your perception will extend beyond the car.

Since you’re well used to keeping your distance from people, you’ll have a valuable asset when it comes to reverse parking.

Onlookers will marvel as you knock the training sticks and bricks over once or twice, but never again.

Once you learn to drive one car, you can learn to drive any vehicle (see photographic evidence above).

It’s a bit like The Matrix movie, in which Trinity downloads the software to fly a helicopter.

But it’s better than that, because the software is already in you.

In fact, it is you.

On the road, because you obey rules and are careful, your dealings with police should be minimal.

In summary, learning to drive could be one of the most empowering and enjoyable things you ever do.

🙂

Brought to you by The Feisty Empire.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lovely story, Aspie Scribe. (Do you still go by Aspie Scribe?) I reckon there’s magic (and comfort) in the small details. Better than getting freaked out by all the big (confusing) details. So, you’re on the right tram! Thanks for the post. 🙂

    • Hi, Ad. I revealed my identity on my 47th birthday, so you can call me Paul. Though I do still like AspieScribe, Aspie Scribe and AS, so knock yourself out! 🙂

      I’m very pleased you like this story. And your early comment has set me up for a fine day. So thank you kindly for your unerring support. Best regards, [INSERT NAME]. 😉

  2. Hi Paul.

    What a great little post.

    Driving is one of my favourite activities, indeed when I was in my late teens I rode a motor bike. My first car was an orange Datsun 180B, and when my children where in primary school I drove the school bus. I’m still licensed to carry thirty passengers. (I’ve also been known to drive the occasional pantech truck)

    Driving is one of the most empowering skills any human being can acquire, which I think is why I love it so much.

    There’s something about being behind the wheel, alone on a long trip, with music, podcasts and light refreshments that affords a sense of well being. Maybe it’s because I’m a classic introvert, but I often wish I could just drive into the invisible line called the horizon.

    All the best.
    Catherine

    • Dear Catherine, I get such a kick that a creative soul like you reads my posts, let alone comments! 🙂 The first pic I ever saw of you was a very classy aerial shot into some swish-looking sports car. Do you know the one I mean? Did you see: http://www.abc.net.au/tv/guide/abc1/201209/programs/DO0738Q001D2012-09-25T220000.htm ? Lake Eyre seems to be one place you can truly become one with your vista. I’d love to see what you’d do with such a place. With best regards and MANY thanks for visiting. 🙂

  3. Hi Paul,
    I love the calming flow of your writing. It’s true that inside the cabin of your car with some good music you can escape the pressures of the world. Traffic jams and road ragers aside, I love the time alone to collect my thoughts and relax. My favourite thing in summer, after a long week, is to head down the coast with the roof down, warm wind in the hair and the total feeling of calm. That takes me back to younger times when fun and freedom were on top of the ‘to do’ list.

    • Hi, WLBB! You sure know how to make a bloke feel good about his writing. 🙂 As I know you’re a busy person, I’m delighted my words have a positive effect on you. And as I know you’re a car buff, I’m very happy to hear this post resonated with you. Many thanks indeed for taking the time to drop by. Best regards, P. 🙂

  4. Very true.

    Ironically (looking at the date of this post), I finally achieved my driver’s license on Oct. 22nd. After 20 years. I learned to drive quickly, but dealing with taking the test… *shudders* It was a nightmare as a teenager.

    Finally got a driving teacher who was familiar with teaching Autistics and Aspies to drive; not that I needed much help learning, but I needed practice, and I needed self-confidence. With his help, I managed to do it; and I love driving. Going along the Trans-Canada, all by myself, with the radio playing… it’s wonderful.

    😉 tagAught

    • Thank you for your delightful share! 🙂 Your fascinating reminiscences triggered more memories in my brain. Like how my instructor freaked me out with sarcasm, making me do ever more things wrong. Aspie driving teachers: talk about a niche market! I’m so pleased you got your ‘wings’ and hope to hear more of your adventures soon. Kind regards, P. 🙂

  5. I recently got my learner’s driving license but I’ve yet to start taking lessons. Reading your post has made me feel so much more excited and optimistic about driving! So thank you 🙂

    • Hi, Ruby. Congratulations on your learner’s. I’m thrilled you got something out of this post and I wish you every success in your quest. I hope you’ll drop by again to let us know how you’re going. With kind regards and many thanks for your lovely feedback. P. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

